200 Hillvue Lane, Pittsburgh, PA 15237

PHONE: 412-366-2100


MIDDLE SCHOOL VISUAL ARTS CURRICULUM (6-8)
 
Art classes within the middle grades expand on the elementary foundation in understanding and skills in the visual arts in an exploratory manner consistent with the middle school philosophy. Through the Middle School Visual Arts Curriculum, students: 
  • Develop increasingly sophisticated creative strategies, skills, and habits of mind through artistic practices.
  • Apply design literacy to a wide variety of traditional and new media.
  • Acquire increasing complex procedural knowledge, skill and craftsmanship in art making while exploring an expanded range of media.
  • Develop more sophisticated aesthetic judgment that supports the making and understanding of rich meaning in art.
  • Explore a wide range of notions about the meaning and purpose of visual art.
  • Form a broader knowledge and understanding of our rich and diverse historical and cultural heritage through art.

ART 6
 9 Weeks / 6th Grade

In sixth grade art, students explore a variety of media as they continue to build their skills in drawing, painting, graphics, calligraphy, and sculpture. Theory is introduced to further elaborate upon ideas about color, perspective, and design. Teachers discuss artists, artwork, and provide technique demonstrations to develop the four strands of art education: art appreciation, art history, art production, and art criticism; as well as problem-solving and critical thinking skills.


ART 7
 6 Weeks / 7th Grade

In seventh grade art, students focus on further developing art skills, vocabulary, creativity, and concepts of design. Two-dimensional lessons may include painting, college, drawing, and printmaking. Three-dimensional projects may include functional or sculptural ceramic experiences. Art history, art appreciation, and art criticism are integrated into the lessons as a framework of the curriculum.


ART 8
 12 Weeks / 8th Grade

In eighth grade art, students express themselves creatively through drawing, graphics, sculpting, painting, metalwork, 3D ceramic sculpture, and jewelry to develop art skills and concepts. Composition, technique, the elements and principles of design, and attention-to-detail are explored. Art history, art appreciation, problem solving, and critical thinking are integrated into lessons.



2016-17 Middle School Staff
STAFF MEMBER SCHOOL PHONE E-MAIL
Michael Bockoven Marshall Middle
Department Chair
(724) 934-6066
(724) 934-7294
mbockoven@northallegheny.org
Sharon Mayer Marshall Middle, Carson (724) 934-6066 smayer@northallegheny.org
Heidi Miller Ingomar Middle (412) 348-1470 hmiller@northallegheny.org
Bill Medwick Carson (412) 369-5520 bmedwick@northallegheny.org
Renae Neumeyer Carson (412) 369-5520 rneumeyer@northallegheny.org
Jennifer Sell Marshall Middle (724) 934-6066 jsell@northallegheny.org
Kathleen Slowik Ingomar Middle (412) 348-1470 kslowik@northallegheny.org
CLOSE