200 Hillvue Lane, Pittsburgh, PA 15237

PHONE: 412-366-2100


ELEMENTARY VISUAL ARTS CURRICULUM (K-5)
 
The elementary art classes, offered to students in Kindergarten through fifth grade, develop the foundational understanding and skills in the visual arts. Students practice artistic activities that develop creative strategies, skills, and habits of mind. This work supports design literacy in the language of visual composition and expression.
 
Through the Elementary Visual Arts Curriculum, students: 
  • Acquire procedural knowledge, skill, and craftsmanship through the art making process.
  • Develop understanding of the meaning and purpose of visual art. 
  • Explore our rich and diverse historical and cultural heritage through the study of visual art.
  • Develop aesthetic judgment that supports the making and understanding of rich meaning in art.
Students in the elementary program attend Art class for one class period each week for the entire school year. Classes additionally meet for an "Integrated Day" once every three weeks. Classes are taught by certified art specialists. Fourth Grade Art classes travel to the Carnegie Museum in Pittsburgh to view and discuss the work of artists they have studied. Building exhibitions mounted in each elementary building often explore integrated themes.
 
2016-17 Elementary Staff
STAFF MEMBER SCHOOL PHONE E-MAIL
Chelsea Attwood McKnight, Marshall Elementary (412) 635-4100
(724) 935-4044
cattwood@northallegheny.org
Deborah Devine McKnight (412) 635-4101 ddevine@northallegheny.org
Marcee Finch Bradford Woods (724) 935-5081 mfinch@northallegheny.org
Emma Hughey Peebles (412) 366-9667 ehughey@northallegheny.org
Andrea Jaecks Marshall Elementary (724) 935-4044 ajaecks@northallegheny.org
Lee Knapp Ingomar Elementary (412) 366-9665 lknapp@northallegheny.org
Tara Petronic Hosack
(412) 635-5125
tpetronic@northallegheny.org
Jana Pinkerton Franklin (412) 366-9663 jpinkerton@northallegheny.org
Lacey Wolcott Marshall Elementary (724) 935-4044
lwolcott@northallegheny.org
CLOSE